Any-Flavour Bikkies

photo-36

This recipe is dedicated to my special friend Trish, affectionately dubbed “Two Shoes”, who told me that she expected to see some sort of baking from me this school holidays. For those of you who don’t know, in January I started my first year of teaching, and work now consumes a large part of my life, pushing baking to the back of my mind.

I saw the recipe that I based this on floating around on Facebook, and decided that I wanted to try it out… It seemed super easy – I love a “one bowl mix” – and under 2 hours later, I had in excess of 100 biscuits that I sure will be happily munched up by my fellow teachers and eager-to-learn munchkins as a “Welcome to Term 2” present when school goes back on Monday!

The Jam Drop were by far the favourites in our house, and that included the votes of a 3yo and a 5yo!

Ingredients

250gm Butter (softened)
1 cup Caster Sugar
2 Eggs
1 can Sweetened Condensed Milk
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 cup Custard Powder
4 – 4 1/2 cups Plain Flour
3 teaspoons Baking Powder
Whatever “flavourings” you like – I used: Dried Apricots, White Chocolate Chips, Smarties, Raspberry Jam, 100’s & 1000’s

Cream butter and sugar together until light and creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, and mix in. Add Condensed Milk and Vanilla. Mix!

Fold in custard powder. Then fold in 3 cups of flour. One cup at a time. You can add one teaspoon of baking powder in with each cup, or dump it all in after you’ve added the 3 cups (which is what I did). Add the last 1 1/2 cups of flour in 1/2 cup batches. You may not need all the flour. You want the dough to be slightly sticky to touch, but dry enough so you can handle it.

I separated my dough into 4 batches, to make the 4 different flavours.

Apricot & White Chocolate Chip
Chop about half a cut of dried apricots. Add to the dough with a big handful of white chocolate chips, and use your hands to mix through the dough. Roll into balls and flatten with the back of a fork.

Smarties
Add a couple of handfuls of Smarties to the dough. Mix through with your hands. Roll into balls and flatten with the back of a fork. Press one (or a few) Smarties into the top of the uncooked biscuit.

100’s & 1000’s
Pour 100’s & 1000’s into a bowl. Roll dough into balls, and flatten with the back of a fork. Gently lift individual cookies and press the ‘forked’ side down into the 100’s & 1000’s.

Jam Drops
Rolls dough into balls and flatten with the back of a fork. Use the rounded side of a small teaspoon (or your thumb, or something else of a similar shape) to push a small indent into the biscuits, without going all the way through the dough. After putting onto the tray, use a spoon and put about 1/2 a teaspoon of jam into the indent.

photo-37

Bake on a tray lined with baking paper at 180ºC for about 12 minutes, depending on your oven. Keep a close eye on them! The biscuits should be a slight golden brown (the 100’s & 1000’s one in the picture above was cooked too long).

Enjoy!

Notes: Other flavourings you could try: Chocolate chip; Peanut butter & chocolate chip; Lemon rind; Passionfruit pulp.

Leave a Reply

